Why bother to publish?

Ankou

OKy Doky... Just finnished searching the archives and have found many threads on the money aspect and the joy of making your own deck aspect, However, there are alot of people on this forum who are self publishing in small quantities, who probably are just covering cost by the time they're done.

I've done a couple of oracles now and am in the middle of a few more.

I'm curious why deck creators would want to publish, outside of the hope to make big bucks (being a freelance artist I have no hope that I will make big bucks doing this)... Is it just to share with friends? Does it make the deck feel more complete to have them in other peoples hands?

Thinking about self publishing, but I don't know why, except that I'd like to share the love...

Love and Light,

Ankou

(PS... if there is another thread that covers this particular bit please let me know, I'll definately read it :) )

Astra

Hmmm... I'm not at all certain that there has been a thread on this subject before.

My own feeling was that there's no way to tell if you've got something really good until you put it out in the world and see if anybody's interested in paying money for it. Okay, so "good" and "saleable" are necessarily the same thing, but that's the test I'm working with. (big bucks would be nice, but ...)

Actually, I'm not sure I started with that idea - I simply always figured that if I ever got a deck finished, I wanted it to be something other people would want to read with, and the only way that could happen is if it got printed.

I know that a number of the artists here hadn't really thought about publishing until other Aeclectic members started asking when they could order a deck, and a number of people start by assuming there's a market through one publisher or another and have dead-ended when they found out how limited that direction was.

I'll be incredibly interested in seeing other answers to this.

Zephyros