Did I buy the right deck? Advise please

Tigerwings

Hello everyone, I am a newbie and I am after some info on tarot decks.

I have just bought the Rider Waite deck for a friend who wants to learn to read the tarot. Neither of us knows much about tarot and I thought I would just give her the most common or traditional deck, because it would be easier to learn with. However, in the shop I wasn't allowed to look at the actual card as the are sealed in a plastic thing (like shrinkwrap?) so I just trusted the pictures would be ok. However, i have been browsing the different types of decks online, and i am now regretting buying the Rider Waite deck as i know my friend would have much preferred a deck such as the Morgan Greer, the Rider Waite illustrations aren't as beautiful are they?

Oh what did I do? I think I made a mistake! Should i try and return them or exchange them? Did I make a mistake? Will my friend like them? Please help me!!!

jmd

Trust your decision...

and go through the various posts in this forum.

The Rider-Waite isn't the most traditional, but it's still the most popular, and many books illustrate their descriptions with it.

Be aware that there are two common numerations: VIII (8) for Justice, XI (11) for Strength; and its inverse, which the Waite deck uses.

Like most people, you (and your friend) will probably end up owning more than one deck. Just get familar with the various ideas inherent in each card... other decks, and this one, will then speak to you openly.

Major Tom

Quote:jmd (04 Dec, 2001 19:31):
Trust your decision...

and go through the various posts in this forum.

I echo this. }>

The Rider-Waite is a good deck for a beginner - there are many good books and sources that use it as illustrations.

Don't question your choice. Learn from this one before trying others. Doubt tends to hinder. }>

slinky_jo