I'm totally new to Thoth---three Magus cards?

Grizabella

I'm totally new to the Thoth. But I got a Thoth for Christmas and have been shuffling and shuffling ever since I got them. I started right in shuffling without going through the cards first.

This morning I was doing my usual 7 cards in the morning and I drew all three Magus cards! I didn't know I even had more than one.

My question is, what do you do with three Magus cards? Leave them in the deck? Choose one and leave it in the deck?

If you leave all three in, then what do you do about reading three in the same draw?

I know this forum is probably for people a lot more educated and experienced in Thoth than I am, but it took me so much by surprise that I just have to ask, in hopes someone is patient enough to try to explain to a dumb newby. :p

gregory

They are three versions said to have been included to use up the card, I believe. Only one is "intended" (in theory) for use: this one

I know there are some here who prefer to use one of the others instead. I certainly only use one at a time myself. I don't know anyone who uses all three at once, but I'm sure someone will show up.

Grizabella

Thanks, gregory. I just went to the study group and read all the threads there and I did see someone say they prefer to use all three but most folks say it wasn't intended that they be kept in the deck. It also told how the three came to be used and it really was just to fill the two extra cards. The one you included the scan of is the one that was meant to be in the deck, as you say. I'm not sure what I'll do about it yet.

There was a link given in one of the threads I read that led to a website where someone was saying the three represent three stages of a person's life that was kind of interesting if one were to want to include all three in the deck. Some of the links in the study group threads are dead and outdated, though.

Zephyros