Pre - Golden Dawn Decks

Lady Iron Side

Okay I've been reading one of Ronald Decker's book, I am now a bit confused, here is what he says: Many people use the Golden Dawn Associations, which are based on their Astrological associations, however decks older (pre Golden Dawn ) such as Visconti - Sforza, Cary Yale, Marseilles use Planetary or Mythological association with the trump cards, which could lead to different elemental associations.

Could some please explain this further, so then he's saying no elements as in fire, water, etc were used. so then how about the Aces no element energy is used, I am studying the Cary Yale deck, please post links as to where there might be thread pertaining to the Planetary system. and how I would read the cards/interpret. thanks

Bernice

I cannot comment on that extract of Decker you give as I don't have the book. But regarding reading with the historical decks, you might find this sticky thread helpful;

"Reading Methods - Marseilles and Other Historical Decks"
http://www.tarotforum.net/showthread.php?t=141823

For a very good historical approach, I would suggest 'Mels' Old Fashioned' method, it's at the above link. It's a complete system which lists every card.

Bee :)

Lady Iron Side

Thank you that threat is most helpful, lol I've gone printer happy

Edit:

Well after reading the method above (link) and comparing my interpretation to what I've been doing, then taking a long look at the cards that the Cary Yale deck had answered to me with, I got freak out so to speak, please anyone here that works with these older decks help explain.

here is link that happened to me tonight.

http://www.tarotforum.net/showthread.php?t=152918

Lady Iron Side

This is what I was able to come up with using Mel's system, scroll to the bottom of this link, and review. share your opinions please

http://www.tarotforum.net/showthread.php?t=152008&page=2&pp=10