Tarot Publishing Business

alejandro

Hello everybody!

I'm new at the AT forum and may be my questions could sound naive but I would be grateful if someone could give some info on that.

My primary business is filmmaking but I'd love to start a small Tarot publishing venture in Ukraine, Eeastern Europe. This is still a complete New World for the Tarot and every opportunity is open. My approach is mainly producer's or rather publisher's one, so the questions are:

1) how and how much artists in Europe are paid for the work? Are there different systems of payment? Say: flat fee for commission or sharing all sales profits? What is the range of royalties? How much gets a novice artist and how much could expect a published artist? Is there a big difference in say Lo Scarabeo or US Games royalties and smaller publishers' ? Does the royalty or fee depend on the circulation amount? Other factors?

2) how the distribution is usually organized? In filmmaking we have a quite simple formula: from every ticket sold in a cinema the cinema itself gets 50%, distributor gets 25% and producer gets the rest - 25% (this is for Ukraine). Is there any similar formula for Tarot publishing? Say, how much publisher gets from every sold deck?

3) is it acceptable practice that smaller publishers could suggest original artwork to bigger publishers? or maybe the bigger will only talk to the artists? in other words could the publisher be an agent for an artist in relation to the bigger publishers?

Thanks for any ideas on the topics.

baba-prague

alejandro said:
Hello everybody!

1) how and how much artists in Europe are paid for the work?
I'll pass on this one as we don't discuss in public what we pay. I don't think any established publisher will tell you as it might be seen as revealing contractual details - but I could be wrong. Some artists here may be able to say more perhaps.
2) how the distribution is usually organized?