The Book of the Law's bendible rules?

BleuReynard

Ok, so I'm new to the Thoth, hell I've only been using the tarot for less then a year now. The Thoth itself I picked up in late December 2012.

I have been doing my best to solo study the subject with help from The Book of the Thoth, Understanding Aleister Crowley's Thoth Tarot, Liber T, and The Mystical Qabala.

What's getting to me is The Book of the Law. I have a copy and I have not read it. Why? Because I was told the last bit of the book was a warning not to study it, what one gets from the Book is for himself/herself alone.

BUT IT IS STUDIED! Both Bot and UACTT reference it all the time! In this is my confusion.
I want to wait until I'm ready to retain the information before I read it, but it seems I almost should have read it first.

I know we have a study group on this forum, and I'm sure other people have had this issue. The forum's search box gave to many results that didn't answer the question.

So, what am I getting at? How can I form this situation in a way that people can answer and it doesn't just seem like a noob's rant?

I guess what I would like to know is:
if it is suggested that I just bite the bullet and read the Book, then get rid of it
if I should read the Book and keep it around
if I should wait it out
or if it really even matters

My draw today is The Star, Crowley and DuQuette suggest reading the first chapter.

ravenest

Why not 'go the whole hog' ?

Follow the star. Here is my recomendation, go outside into a nice space, private, at night and read chapter one under the stars.

See what happens and take it from there.

Aeon418

Here is my recomendation, go outside into a nice space, private, at night and read chapter one under the stars.

Is that with or without a torch? :laugh:

Aeon418

I guess what I would like to know is:
if it is suggested that I just bite the bullet and read the Book, then get rid of it
if I should read the Book and keep it around
if I should wait it out