Coming back around to Thoth

Mallah

I'm about to go buy the Thoth Deck.

I haven't owned one in about 20 years, but find that my own preferences in decks are now leading me that way again. This will allow me to learn the decans, and more about Crowley and Golden Dawn esoteric stuff.

I studied Kaballah early on in my tarot work, and it has profoundly effected me. I know less about the astrological parts, but want to learn that stuff. And the color theory.

One thing that's interesting is that as I read stuff like the Book of Thoth it's not all greek to me...I seem to get maybe 50% of what's being said (maybe I'm exaggerating, and 20 years down the road I'll think I knew nothing at this point.) Point is my work with the cards and Kabbalah is opening me and I'm learning it anyway.

So anyway the time's come for me to take it all on again...and I have a question...

In going out to the local Metaphysical Bookstore, where they have the deck in Large, Medium and Small, will I be happy with the big one? I had an edition at one time that was the biggest deck I owned...but it was NOT "THE BIG ONE". I'm wondering if the Thoth Deck is nice when it's big, or does it just get grainy? Will I see more in the art?

Zephyros

The originals were large, painting-like in size, so I don't think it would get grainy, I think you would see more in the artwork. At least, I do when I look at a scanned version on my tablet. However, I wouldn't trade my "normal" sized version for anything, I like taking it out at odd moments from my bag and the big version is too big to carry around.

Maskelyne

The larger deck does have more detail, and shows the artwork to better advantage. It's a bit bulky, but not unmanageable. I trimmed one and the resulting deck is a very handy size. Plus the images really come alive when liberated from their frames and titles.

Mallah

So I went by the metaphysical bookstore; but I'm going to have to wait till payday... or at least till I pick up a few more bucks.