publishing your own deck

littlecrow

(I hope this is the right spot to post it, I couldn't figure out anywhere more appropriate)

I am an amateur artist whose credits right now only include volunteer work, and I've been thinking for a long time now about designing my own tarot deck, but I have no clue even where to start to get it published. Can anyone give me any suggestions at all?

Others have told me that I should contact tarot deck publishing companies, like Llewellyn, and send them a sample of my work or something, but would this really work? Especially since I've never been paid for artwork before?

Lilliana

I don't know the exact process of getting a deck published, but this website might help.

http://www.ixpres.com/transformational/makenpub.htm

Lilli

Jewel

I would say explore all of your options even if you have not yet been published ... talent has be discovered some how ... ;)

DeLani

Good luck!
I am currently collaborating with an artist in Canada to create our own deck.
Go to Llewellyn's website (www.llewellyn.com) and they have a page on submissions guidelines, even tarot submissions. They want like 5 cards first, (certain ones like Majors, Court cards, and minors) and they should be within certain size parameters.
And don't worry that you haven't been paid yet. If you want to "pad" your resume, list all the volunteer work you've done and how many years you've been studying Tarot (and maybe even how many decks you have, if it's more than 10).
Hope that helps, and best of luck,
DeLani

AmounrA

Hello Littlecrow.

If you are looking to get a deck published a lot depends on what type of taro deck you have in mind.

You may need to create the deck first and then seek a publisher. It would be a wise first move to complete selection of 'tasters' to submit to publishers.

Is your deck going to represent any specialized group? If so perhaps you could contact them, and seek backing/sponsership.