Tibetan Singing Bowls

danieljuk

Really feel that I want to buy a singing bowl to help with my meditation as a sound to play as I meditate. I don't know much about them. Does anyone have any experiences or tips about them? or things to look for when buying them?

I know they have crystal bowls and the Tibetan metal ones with the beater. I quite like the metal ones. Do they have different sounds? Are there any better places to look for them? Browsing online there is lots of "antique Tibetan ones" for outrageous prices! I don't want to buy into that sort of "item with a history" thing. Does anyone have any favourite places to get them (especially in the UK)?

thanks for any advice, tips and experiences! I want one but very new to it :)

Debra

Daniel, I have some experience with the metal ones. Let me urge you to hold it and play it before you buy. There are some that sing beautifully, and others that lack the depth and whatever-the-word-is (reverberation?).

I tried several at a shop once and kept gravitating toward one that *looked* beautiful...but. I played it three times, and each time my eye muscles started twitching uncontrollably. (Really.) The vibration was at exactly the wrong whatever-it-is (frequency?).

So we have four or five. My husband is really good with them. However, whenever he plays any of them, the cats get so upset they start biting each other.

BodhiSeed