Tarot As a Means of Self-Discovery: An Exercise in Futility?

PhoenixWriter

Hey all,

I'm pretty new to the Tarot, and I'm not sure how to search for the question I want to ask (what keywords to use, etc.) so I apologize if this issue has come up before.

I've just read Ly DeAngeles' "Tarot Theory and Practice" and I found it to be a satisfying academic read on what I would consider "Advanced Tarot" (then again, I'm so fresh, anything is advanced to me at this point), but one thing struck me as discouraging. In her book, DeAngeles discusses the waste of time trying to read yourself is and even warns against reading family, close friends, or even someone you've just met and have had an hour-long discussion with.

Also, in practice of daily 3-card draws, she strongly suggests using all the objectivity you posses to keep yourself out of your readings because frankly, there is more going on in the world than you and your little life, at least per DeAngeles on the Tarot.

Now, I understand the need for neutrality. I heard once that neutrality is a psychic's best friend, and while Tarot is something that can be learned by anyone, so can clairvoyance and other skills, if practiced enough. I understand the pitfalls that come with interpreting esoteric messages.

But what about those of us who are deeply emotional? Emotions are my primary form of communication, and before this book, I was so excited by the messages my cards were telling me; the encouragement, the struggle, the victory, the guidance, the Love... my life was reflected in my cards and I felt connected to something really special.