How were cards made?

blashamma

I made a post about this in the Tarot Deck Creation area, but a friend suggested I try here. I'm just going to copy and paste the post if that's okay.

Okay, I was thinking, tarot goes back quite a ways right? Now, many people who make tarot use computers and laminating machines and all kinds of fancy stuff. Well, I'm no history expert, but I do have this odd feeling that they didn't have computers and laminating machines in the Renaissance or Dark Ages!
Does anyone know what kind of tools and stuff people back then used? I figure that cards were either done with wood blocks, or hand painted. I am familiar with paints of the time and wood block making.
What I'd like to know is what did they do the cards on? There are types of papers I know that were made at the time, and I doubt any of them are suitable for cards. Also, how were the cards protected? Some of the resins and things that I know were used for paintings and such wouldn't work very well on cards, and the paints theyv used would quickly wear off if not protected. Does anyone know?
The reason I'm asking is because one, I'm more of a traditionalist when it comes to the creation process of art (despite my style), and two, it'd be interesting to do a traditional style deck using techniques and things that were used to make decks long ago.

Cerulean

Circa 1760

1. House of Camoin woodblocks
http://www.camoin.com/en/conver/moules/moules_bois.asp

2. Wrapper of an older deck:

http://www.tarot-history.com/History/index.html

Follow the Jacques Vieville links as it will show reproduction notes.

3. For some specifics from a modern playing card maker of hand-produced decks,
Mount Hood Playing cards does mention details such as square cut corners, not using kings or queens for French cards during the Revolution, etc...

But I don't know if the papers are really researched as well on playing cards or tarot sites. I haven't researched cardmakers going backwards.