The Cranky Querent

Metafizzypop

Sometimes when people find out I read tarot cards they ask for a reading. Some female sitters ask about love. They'll ask what the
possibilities are for romance between herself and a certain someone.

It's not unusual for bad cards to come up, cards that show no promise for a relationship at all. So I'll tell the person that it doesn't look like love is in the air.

I've actually had people get angry. They get all huffy and puffy and demand to know why why why. Whether it's because the man has too many other things going on at the moment, or because he has no interest in the woman, if I try to explain it to the sitter, even gently, she goes nuts.

I'm still new at reading for other people, and I welcome the opportunity to gain experience. But I can't help but wonder, why are they asking for a reading if they are going to argue with the answer? It seems to me that if a person wants to delve into such issues, they should be prepared for the possibility of an answer they don't like. Or am I just being naive?

I hate having to be the bearer of bad tidings. And I don't want to alienate the people I know. Should I just lie to them and tell them everything will work out? Frankly, I'd rather be honest, because I really hate to see any friend of mine waste her time waiting for a man who simply has no romantic interest in her. Anybody have any advice?

CottonCandy

I think as a reader, one is supposed to be honest. Gentle, but honest.

From the threads I've read I think we're supposed to try to detach ourselves from feeling anything about whether it seems like the sitter is "getting the message" or not. We're just supposed to deliver the message & what the sitter takes from it is up to them.