True or false?

spicycat46

Is it true you're meant to receive your tarot deck as a gift other than buying it yourself? And that if not, your readings wont be accurate!

I don't believe in it! I bought mine from eBay and I've done a cleansing ritual with sage.

Alta

Definitely false. Decks you buy yourself work just fine.

rwcarter

That is one of many tarot myths that is not true.

Chimera Dust

No, it's not true. That belief exists about the first deck, and while there are many explanations about how it came to be, it's not really true (although of course, you're free to believe in it and follow it).

I bought my first deck for my myself. Never cleansed it. It worked just fine. The only inaccuracies came from the fact that I was a beginner and that I didn't really click with the deck. Not the fact that I've bought it.

Starshower

Breathing sage smoke or any other (carbon black) is bad for you. Like barbeques & charcoal, all smoke from organic compounds contains toxic, cancer-causing chemicals. It doesn't 'cleanse' anything - it dirties things. If you are worried about thoughts & feelings, then remember that these arise in the consciousness & emotions of people, not things.
The accuracy of one's readings only depends on you - your intuition, insights, honesty, imagination, knowledge, intent, etc. Enjoy your new deck! :)

spicycat46

Thank you all, I was right not to believe in it, especially since no one would ever buy me one as a gift.

SunChariot

Is it true you're meant to receive your tarot deck as a gift other than buying it yourself? And that if not, your readings wont be accurate!

I don't believe in it! I bought mine from eBay and I've done a cleansing ritual with sage.