Uncertain

Adam

Hi my name is Adam I have never tried tarot before but I recently decided to and someone recomended the Robin Woods deck. I was looking at some pictures of it online and they were very beautifull and made me feel very spiritual and I got really good vibes from them. I wasn't really feeling any of the other decks that I saw. But then I read a review and the reviewer said that the images in the Robin Woods deck were sugary sweet and the people on them like Ken and Barbie. Now whenever I look at them online I can't get past that mental block of the deck being a false representation of archetypal images. I seem to only see the flaws in them. I would normally go ahead with my instinct to buy them but I don't want to buy them if they subconsciously repel me. Since most of you have probably worked with tarot decks and I haven't, do you think using the deck will be a problem for me? I would really appreciate any suggestions you may have. Thanks

Greenman

first of all, welcome!

it seems to me that your first (non-influenced) impression is the one that you should go with. it is often said (and VERY true) that a tarot deck needs to 'speak' to you, or you won't get the full benefit from it. i believe this is true.
this deck spoke to you when you looked at it from a non-biased POV. so screw the critics!
understand that i speak as a tarot bigot. i'm not one to go for 'new age' decks, oracles or (for the most part) theme decks. and yet, while i don't have the Robin Wood deck, it has been on my list for quite awhile now. i find some of the symbolism very telling.
there are a few cards that i always look at first when judging a new deck. if i don't like these cards then i don't look at the rest of the deck. one of these is the Devil card. i hate the usual