Cold Case: Tina and Bethany

Barleywine

I have my own cold case here in New Hampshire. This one I have some personal knowledge of.

Back in 2001, a woman and her 15-year-old daughter (Tina and Bethany) who lived a couple of miles from me, disappeared never to be seen again. The sole person of interest in all of the subsequent police investigations was her live-in boyfriend, a man I worked with for a number of years, and another guy who worked for me was friends with Tina. Nothing related to the double disappearance was ever pinned on the suspect, who was convicted in early 2001 and subsequently served jail time for molesting his own daughters back in the 1990s. The interesting thing is that Tina and Bethany disappeared the day after he was convicted (after pleading guilty) and released on bond. I heard later from Tina's friend that her bf had told her on at least one occasion "I could kill you and they would never find you."

I did a GT to ask "What happened to Tina and Bethany?" I used the Burning Serpent deck (photo attached).

The very first card to come up in the spread (in the house of the Rider) was the Dead Tree (Coffin). Dead Tree mirrors Whip in the house of Coffin. OK, it can't get much plainer than that. Following it were Book, Girl & Boy, Clouds, Ring, Scythe, Woman and Whip. This line seems to encapsulate the entire situation leading up to the disappearance. A mysterious ending involving a child, with the Ring, Scythe, Woman series suggesting that Tina had moved to terminate the relationship, resulting in deadly backlash (Whip in the house of Coffin). Woman on Snake and Scythe on Clouds suggest that she had no clue what was coming (although she seems to have had every reason to).