Tarot vs. Religion

Aura Wolf

I had a somewhat unsettling experience a few minutes ago and just wanted to share it with everyone. My Tarot of Mermaids that I have been awaiting for 2 months from Chapters Books in Canada was just recently cancelled from my order as they were unable to order it in. Currently, I am visiting with my grandparents in Penticton, B.C. so I decided I could try the local bookstores to see if they had it. There was only one main bookstore that I wanted to get ahold of, but I accidentally called the wrong number and reached a Christian bookstore. I didn't realize this until after I asked them if they had tarot decks. At first the woman didn't seem to understand me, but then she realized I meant tarot cards and said, "No, we are a Christian bookstore," and told me they didn't sell those kinds of items (she referred to "those items" with a specific word, but I can't remember what it was. All I know is it was something "non-Christian" or of that nature). I apologized and told her I meant to reach another bookstore, when she began to launch into a lecture about how I shouldn't be using those kinds of things, and what would happen if I got into them. I was shocked and as soon as I realized what was happening, I hung up the phone (as bad as that made me feel). Despite being a polite person I was not about to sit there and have some woman with no real knowledge of tarot lecture me on its evils and wrongdoings.